Improving mathematics skills – The Tribune India

A two-day capacity building programme for mathematics teachers teaching Class X students was organised at DAV Public School, Palampur. Venue director VK Yadav, Principal of the host school, welcomed the resource persons — Amrit Pal Singh Chawla, Principal, Rayat-Bahra International School, Hoshiarpur; and Dapinder Kaur, Principal, Guru Harkrishan Senior Secondary School, Amritsar. As many as 53 teachers from 31 different schools affiliated with the CBSE attended the programme and learnt new techniques in mathematics to deal with students. All participants appreciated the resource persons. 

Green field Students shine in Olympiad 

Students of Green Field Senior Secondary School, Nagrota Bagwan, fared well in cyber and science Olympiad at international, state and school level. Suryansh Sharma and Arshit Thakur of Class II came first at the international level and received Rs 12,500 cash prize each. Garima Koundal of Class III and Akshit Choudhary of Class XI received Rs 5,000 as cash prize each at the state level, while Arpit Rathore, Animish, Sneha Thakur and Jyotsana Sharma received Rs 2,500 at the state level. Ankita received Rs 1000 at the state level event. Twentytwo students bagged gift vouchers worth Rs 1,000 each. At the state level, 44 students won medals of distinction, nine won zonal topper medals, 33 students at school level and three students at international level won gold medals. In science Olympiad, Guzarish received Rs 5,000 at the state level. Daksha Mehta, Garima Koundal and Inayat got Rs 833 each at the state level. Sudhanshu Sharma, Principal, Green Field Senior Secondary School, appreciated and congratulated science teacher Vitesh Sharma and computer teacher Mona Thakur for their efforts. 

Debate competition at Pinegrove

To boost public speaking skills of children, an inter-house Hindi debate competition was organised at Pinegrove School, Subathu. All participants exhibited their oratorical skills and displayed confidence in presenting their arguments before the audience and the judges. The topics ‘Jeevan Main Hasya ke Mayne Badal Rahe Hain’ and ‘Hamare Samaj Mein Aarakhshan Anyay Ka Droh Hai’ were spoken candidly for and against by the participants of the four houses. Kritika Sharma of Teak House won the first position in junior category and in senior category Nishita Kumar of Chinar House took the honours for the third time in a row. Teak House stood first, while Oak, Deodar and Chinar were next in order.

Source link

Leave a Reply